National Forests

New Mexico is home to 5 national forests that range from the relatively dry lands of the Gila National Forest in the southwest and Lincoln National Forest in the southeast part of the state to the Carson National Forest, which borders southern Colorado.

Unlike National Parks or National Monuments, national forests are multiple-use lands where conservation and recreation are not always the primary uses. Each forest is managed for logging, grazing, and mineral extraction in addition to conservation and recreation. In Wilderness, although grazing is generally allowed, conservation and recreation are the primary uses.

Each forest has its own unique character, but all of them offer unique opportunities to explore New Mexico’s hidden corners. Enjoy!

Carson National Forest

Cibola National Forest

Gila National Forest

Lincoln National Forest

Santa Fe National Forest